Catapult

I was getting ready to get some writing going and I was hearing these words in my head.  They were very familiar to me… and not because they were running around inside my head.  It’s crazy how songs stick with you, no matter how long it has been since you’ve heard them.  This is:

“Catapult”
by Counting Crows

All of the sudden she disappears
just yesterday she was here
somebody tell me if I am sleeping
someone should be with me here
(cause I don’t wanna be alone)

I wanna be the knife that cuts into my hand
and I wanna be scattered from here in this catapult
What a big baby won’t somebody save me please
You won’t find nobody home

all of these quiet battered voices
wait for the hunger to come
we got little revolvers and stupid choices
and no one to say when we’re done
(Well I don’t wanna bring you down)

I wanna be the light that burns out your eyes
`cause I know there’s little things about me
that would sing in the silence of so much rejection
in every connection I make
I can’t find nobody home
I wanna be the last thing you hear when you’re falling asleep….

6 thoughts on “Catapult

  1. I LOVE this song. I listened to their entire discography on repeat for like 4 months while I was backpacking. I have such vivid memories associated with each song. This one takes me to a particular bus ride on a “sleeper” bus in Vietnam. *sigh*

    • Bree, I am so honored that you nominated me for a Versatile Blogger Award. I am very fond of your writing as well. You have a unique voice that talks to me. Unfortunately (or fortunately depending upon your perspective) emberyn nominated me a few days ago, so I can’t accept your nomination. I was going to nominate you but I saw that she already had. Now all three of us are nominated….. how awesome are we 🙂

      • *doh* sorry – I thought I had double checked the lists! i.e. hers and mine. Ah well. Yes, all three of us are awesome 🙂
        Am trying my first NaNoWriMo at the moment, so a lot of my writing energy is being spent there. It is a different sort of process, though, so I expect to be posting here more regularly again – now that I’m into some sort of NaNo rhythm!

Leave a Reply

