Back to Photography

I need to become reacquainted with my camera.  For years and years I have had a camera with me wherever I go.  Then last fall sometime I left it at home and I haven’t picked it up since.  Part of me feels a bit freer without it.  I don’t feel the need to constantly click the shutter and document my surroundings.  In 2012, we drove across country from Sacramento, CA to Southport, NC.  We took approximately 15 days and stopped in Salt Lake City, Yellowstone, Grand Tetons National Park, Devil’s Tower, Mount Rushmore, The Badlands, Blacksburg, VA (Home of my Alma Mater) and a couple of other places that slip my mind right now.  On that trip I took about 2,275 pictures.  That includes pictures of poppies in front of my cousin’s house in Utah
DSC_2599

The Grand Tetons
DSC_2915

The Grand Canyon of Yellowstone
DSC_3196

An Elk in Yellowstone
DSC_3308

A bison in Yellowstone
DSC_3384

A geyser in Yellowstone (ready to go off)
DSC_3470

There are a lot more and I will post them at some other time.

On that same trip, my dad took somewhere on the order of 17 Billion pictures.  Okay, that’s a slight exaggeration but he did take more than I did.  You see, it’s in my blood.  My grandfather (dad’s father) had a darkroom in his house.  My dad had a darkroom in our house when I was growing up.  In the age of digital, I don’t need a darkroom, just a computer with the right programs loaded on it.  It’s in our blood.  I need to figure out where my desire to take pictures went and how to get it back.  I don’t know that I’ll return to taking a zillion pictures per outing, but I would like to take a few.

One thought on “Back to Photography

Leave a Reply

