Aimless Journey

Today I feel as though I have no purpose in this world but to write and to read the writing of others.  This is not the same as being depressed.  If I were depressed I would probably just be sleeping, staring out the window, or at the TV.  This is aimlessness.  This is where I turn my attention to my keyboard and start typing.  If the well runs dry before I have come to a conclusion, I wander around the house (a little) though more likely around the internets :).

There is no word in the English language that rhymes with the word Orange.  For a poet this is an unfortunate thing.

She had an orange
To serve with breakfast
Along with a lozenge*

*The Oxford Rhyming Dictionary gives lozenge as a half-rhyme

It looks like we’re screwed if we want to write any poetry in Florida.  According to their license plates, one cannot go more that 10 feet without stepping on an orange, they are ubiquitous.  Oh, manatees too, the sea sloth.  But then, why would anyone want to do any writing in Florida?  It’s not like there have ever been any successful authors there.  I think I’d rather spend my time in Captain Tony’s or Sloppy Joe’s.

“That’s why we wander and follow La Vie Dansante”

All of my worldly wanderings have taken me to a number of places.  All of them have been great, at least the ones I really remember.  When I was 4 I almost choked to death on an airlines candy in a beach bungalow in Bali.  If it hadn’t been for the quick ninja-like skills my father showed in pushing the candy the rest of the way down my throat, I wouldn’t be here today.

I’ve made a couple of trips to Key West.  The first was for my college senior spring break in 1994.  I don’t remember a lot of that trip and I don’t think many of my fellow spring breakers do either.  Someone had a camera, I know, because I’ve seen some prints of all of us at various bars and beaches.  Never without drinks in our hands.  Needless to say, there were no cell phone pictures (hell there weren’t even cell phones) and there certainly weren’t any digital pictures.  I’ll try to find thone pics and post them here for all the world to see.

My second and most recent trip was in  July of 2001.  It was a “business trip”.  Don’t get me wrong, my coworker and I did have work to do down there but it would only take us two days…. so we planned for five.  Our government sponsor was not averse to this.  No he was on his last “tour” before retirement so all of the trips I went on with him had sight-seeing time built in.  It’s a sweet gig if you can get it.

I did have a digital camera on this trip, so here are some of the pics I snapped:

The first night we were there we took a tour down Duval Street.

Captain Tony’s Saloon (just off Duval Street)
IM000003

Sloppy Joe’s
IM000001

On one of our free days we rented some mopeds and went tooling around the island where we saw:

The Southernmost Point in the Continental US:
IM000003

A tribute to sailors:
IM000011

We were staying at the Holiday Inn La Concha and we spent a lot of time at the hotel’s rooftop restaurant and bar which is locally famous for it’s sunset parties.
IM000038IM000052

Here are a couple of other views from top of the hotel

IM000015 IM000002

We would also go out “on the town” in the early evening and finish up the night up there as it was closer to our rooms.
I guess it’s time for me to grab a snack and figure out what I’m going to do for dinner.  Orange you glad you joined me on my aimless journey down South and into the past?

One thought on “Aimless Journey

  1. Pingback: Where Am I Going? | Going Sideways

Leave a Reply

