HTML and the like

I spent the afternoon doing something I would consider useful. It has kept my mind working rather than have it zone out on football the whole time. I’ve been learning how WordPress uses HTML and inline style attributes when you go to post something. I used to write HTML, sorry code HTML, about 13 years ago and some things have changed while some things are still the same. When I was doing it, style sheets and inline style attributes didn’t exist yet. Formatting was done with HTML itself. WordPress seems to support a sort of hybrid system. There are a limited number of HTML tags supported. You can see them here. They also allow inline style attributes for HTML tags. In addition to that, you can purchase the “Custom Design” package for $30.00 which gives you access to Custom CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) for your blog. I have yet to dive in to the Custom CSS but I will some time in the near future. I wanted to get my hands on the HTML and inline style attributes first. So, here we go:

It is amazing
How I want you so much more
Now than yesterday

I can put some text here Some more text goes over here
Flash and all other embeds are not allowed in WordPress.com posts, pages, or text widgets. For security reasons, we remove the tags needed for these to work. Your intentions may be innocent, but someone somewhere might try to use such embeds to damage the site, affecting all of our users. nothing There are a thousand reasons
Why I can’t let you go yet
You are nowhere near my life
Yet you’re here all the time
Something useful here Users are not allowed to post JavaScript on WordPress.com blogs. JavaScript can be used for malicious purposes. As an example, JavaScript has taken sites such as MySpace.com and LiveJournal offline in the past. The security of all WordPress.com blogs is a top priority for us, and until we can guarantee scripting languages will not be harmful, they will not be permitted. Something totally useless here
This is just a small example of what I learned       about today.          I don't plan on using all of these customizations at the same time, 
but I do hope to 
use them every once in a while to         change up the look of my posts.

If anyone has any questions about this (or anything else for that matter) please don’t hesitate to ask.

Leave a Reply

