When You Loved Me

When you loved me
Things were better
Than they are now

The sun rose and
Set at appropriate times
The birds sang
Just outside our window

Now the sun sets after
I’m ready for bed
And rises after
I’m ready to get up

There are no birds
Singing just outside
Our window
We don’t share a window
Any longer

When you loved me
Things were better
Than they are now

Walking in the park
Holding hands was romantic
You used to love
Jumping off that fishing pier

Now Our hands shake too
Much to hold very long
And Neither of us
Remembers how to swim

When you loved me
Things were better
Than they are now

I shouldn’t complain too much
You’re still by my side
And I can love enough
For us both

A love that has
Lasted decades
I profess to you
At every chance
You look at me
With a blank stare
No sparkle in your eyes

When you loved me
Things were better
But they’re still good now

— GB

Leave a Reply

