“I Am Mental Illness” Vs. “I Have Mental Illness”

This is what I’ve been trying to get at for a while.

theothersid3

To be bipolar is to be controlled by my illness. To have bipolar is to have control over my illness. The subtleties of language have great differences in meaning. I imagine to be diagnosed with any mental illness, the initial tendency is to slap the label on myself, saying I am ADHD, anxiety, depression, bipolar, BPD, schizophrenic, <insert mental illness diagnosis here>. Likewise, the initial tendency for a person not educated about mental illness is to label those people who have it according to their illnesses.

I suspect this is the case because mental illness has an effect on the mind, which is very near to our core being. When it spins out of control, it is magnified and shows up prevalently in the forefront of that person. In order to become diagnosed, this must often happen. In my case, I couldn’t help but look out through a looking glass…

View original post 223 more words

One thought on ““I Am Mental Illness” Vs. “I Have Mental Illness”

  1. Pingback: Stigma or Reality? | Broken Believers ♥

Leave a Reply

