Bipolar- If You Can’t See It, It Doesn’t Exist (according to many)

Some good points here.

Having Faith

I just don’t understand people. Even the ones closest to you. How many of you with a mental illness have experienced a time when someone doesn’t believe you are really sick? I know I have.

People often don’t believe you are sick because they can’t actually “see” the illness as you can others. You can see the effects of cancer, diabetes, broken bones, but it is hard to see Bipolar unless you are having an episode. Even then when you are manic they just think you are feeling really good. When you are depressed they think you are a little low. They don’t see the anguish that is going on in your mind.

A couple of months ago I had a close family member tell me that having bipolar is nothing compared to arthritis. That, basically, I never hurt from it. it hurt me badly for this person to say that…

View original post 328 more words

Leave a Reply

