starting to remember

starting to remember
candle wax peels off
leaving welts for my
silence, pounding
stakes with bare
hands, holding back
the hammer, the
torturer brings raw
steel shaped into
manacles and chain,
on display for what
shall come at the
end of my day,
toil is something
constant, but
different day by day,
only one thing is
for certain, there
will be punishment
tomorrow, the toll
witnessed has been,
few, the others
disappear in solitude,
new ones replace
them quickly, to keep
order in the line, now
I think I will retire,
nothing they can do
shall strike fear, I
go off to see my
brothers who gave
themselves here
to save me

— GB

Leave a Reply

