I see….. things

Maybe I need to take some further time off, or maybe I just need to stop trying to write while I’m watching a football game.  I do, however, need to complain about something.  Something I have come to expect and tolerate are the hallucinations I experience.  I know I have written about this before, or at least mentioned it.  I see things out of the corner of my eye.  I also hear things.  For the past two to three days the visual hallucinations have been more intense.  Not only am I seeing things out of the corner of my eye, I’ve been seeing them right out in front.  It is mostly a case of seeing something and interpreting it as something else.  Like the coat rack in the hallway, I know it’s there, but when I come around the corner someone is standing there.  It just happens for a split second, but it is enough to freak me out.  Sitting in my room, I am in front of a bank of windows that faces the driveway and the road.  There are trees and birds and bushes etc.  So, I always turn my head and look when a car goes by.  If the birds are moving in the tree or bushes I look because I think it is a car.  Wind blowing in the trees…… pretty much movement of any kind draws my attention.  This also happens when I’m out.  I’m not really sure why it happens.  I don’t think it’s dangerous, it’s just really, really, really annoying.  The auditory hallucinations are not as bad.  In white noise situations I hear my name called or a faint hint of music.  When it’s quiet is when I have the most issues because it usually happens when I’m trying to go to sleep.  When it’s quiet I hear distant music and sometimes people talking and my name being called.  All in all, it’s not the end of the world for me.  But I will be addressing it with my psychiatrist when I see him next week.

Does anyone out there have hallucinations and/or suggestions how to cope with them?

2 thoughts on “I see….. things

  1. Yes, I see/hear things sometimes. My old therapist told me it was because I wanted to see/hear things. It doesn’t freak me out; I just assume that I am able to sense some things that others don’t and that I do not understand.

    • Thank you for commenting. Seeing things, for me, is not something new. It’s been going on for five and a half years. I’ve been on an anti-psychotic for four years and the hallucinations were gone for three years. Then I started having them again about a year ago and they have been getting more intense. Right now they are not terribly intrusive, I can just brush them off. I’m concerned that they are getting more prevalent now and that they might just keep increasing. So, I’m going to see what I can do about heading it off at the pass.

Leave a Reply

