Psychiatric or General

Some times I think about a giant what if relating to what happened and the end of my big psychotic break.  What would have happened if I had been to Sharp Mesa Vista hospital instead of Sharp Memorial hospital.  The difference, in case you’re asking is that Sharp Mesa Vista is a psychiatric hospital while Sharp Memorial is a general hospital.  I’m really not sure what would have happened if I had been taken to the psychiatric hospital.  I only imagine that I would have been required to stay there for a longer period of time.  Whereas the general hospital treated me with IV antibiotics for a urinary tract infection and released me to the custody of my parents after a week.  The reason I taken to the regular hospital instead of the psychiatric hospital is that my regular psychiatrist did not have privileges at the psychiatric hospital.  That should have been my first clue to drop his pill-pushing ass.  Anyhow, I don’t know of I would have been better off or worse off going to Sharp Mesa Vista, but given my categorical dislike for psychiatric hospitals, the ones I have been in, including Sharp Mesa Vista, haven’t been all that pleasant, I would have to say, I am probably better off.

Does anyone feel one way or another about their stays in psychiatric hospitals?  I’ve heard that some of them can be quite pleasant and rewarding.  Let me know what you think.

4 thoughts on “Psychiatric or General

  1. I’ve had some long stays and some short stays. All my hospitalizations have been in private hospitals in Australia, covered by my private health insurance, and have been voluntary. I’m naturally a bit of an antiauthoritarian type, so having people tell you when you can do things all the time gives me the shits, but I’ve also had some excellent hospital experiences – made some good friends, experienced some good healing, been exposed to some new therapy modalities and been supported through some killer medication changes. I’d go to hospital again if I had to but – touch wood – with any luck I can avoid that.
    This has ended up being a bit of a bland comment! I wanted to write something more positive, but I guess this is my truth. So – there it is 🙂

  2. I was in the psychiatric hospital a year ago and I feel like it helped. I was in the psych unit recently for ECT treatments but I didn’t participate in any of their program. I don’t know why. I am so resistant.

    • I have been in the psych unit of two different hospitals for ECT treatments. I was forced to participate both times and I don’t know if I resisted because I knew I would be getting out sooner than everyone else or of it was because I knew that without ECT and the good doctors I had and the other support (family, friends, etc) that I would probably be in there with the rest of the people for a long time. Perspective certainly played a key role.

Leave a Reply

