beautiful life

you were pulling pages out of my notebook
and you were lighting them on fire

you were destroying me from the bottom up
I was loving you from the top down
when we met in the middle we were
just bound to explode

now I can’t put out the fire that’s consuming
everything we have ever known
and you’re there fanning the flames
because you don’t want to remember

nights out on the lake where we would see
who could hold their breaths the longest
lazy mornings under covers when we would
decide to curl up and burrow in all day

we were living the beautiful life
we both swore was in our hearts
then you ripped mine out out and watched it burn
and I could see how black yours was

I just want new sheet of paper that has
nothing to do with you
so I can start my beautiful life over again
and rebuild my heart

— GB

One thought on “beautiful life

Leave a Reply

