My Verse #1

“The powerful play goes on and you may contribute a verse.  What will your verse be?” — Dead Poets Society

This quote and more of it have recently been used in an Apple ad on TV.  They use the quote well, it creates some drama (at least it does with me).  One of the reasons it holds such sway is because it comes right out of “Dead Poets Society,” a movie that had quite an effect on me.  It was one of the things, early on in my life, that made me want to be a writer.  I did it in college, I did it when I got out of college, I have always written in some way, somewhere.  It hasn’t always been creative writing (I did some technical writing for a few years here and a few years there) but it has been writing none-the-less.  So after some babbling along here, I’m finally getting to the point.  The quote above asks a question.  “What will your verse be?” and while I’m still considering my answer I will say that the answer starts something like this:

My verse in the powerful play intends to make as much of the world as possible aware of Bipolar Disorder and all Mental Illness in such a way as to reduce the stigma and increase acceptance around the world.  That’s  the way I would like to begin this verse.  I will return with plans on how I’m going to continue and finish out this verse.

Leave a Reply

