Nightmares Persist

When you told me about it
I was crushed by the silence
That was created between us,
The sheer lack of words
Existing in the vacuum that
Your news left in its wake

Where could I go with this
Vacancy you were leaving
In my heart and in my mind?

Sadness descended,
It ruled my entire being,
No light penetrated,

I still feel you wrapped
Around me, holding me
As I cried myself to sleep,
Hoping that I would wake
Up and it would all be
The worst possible dream

Nightmares persist, these
Many years later, I lose
You over and aver again

— GB

3 thoughts on “Nightmares Persist

  1. Pingback: In The Pit of My Stomach | DIE TRYING

Leave a Reply

