if I could

if I could get you out of my head
I could recount legends of
journeys to the mythical lands of
my deepest and darkest soul
where love lives in a roadside ditch
covered by the detritus of every
relationship that has ever slipped
through my grasp

if I could get you out of my head
I could start believing myself
that you are gone for good,
that I don’t have to stay up
waiting for you to come home,
this won’t ever be that night

if I could get you out of my head
I could be happier
I could be stronger
I could be able to
finally find my way

— GB

Leave a Reply

