Take them as you get them

There is no way I can say the right thing
There is no way I can know what that is
I have not uttered a single syllable
Since you drew the line of silence
In the shards of our broken… whatever it was

The eloquence is hauntingly absent
The elocution decidedly mute
The look on your face says you expect me to speak
If you would just give me a subject, maybe
I could force myself to form the words
So we can move past this detent

When those words finally cross my tongue
I am powerless to keep them from your ears
Take them as you get them and carry on

— GB

2 thoughts on “Take them as you get them

Leave a Reply

