What’s Going On

For the past 6 (or more) weeks I have been largely absent from this forum.  I have managed to write a little but not as much as I’m used to.  The reasons behind this are a bit convoluted so I’ll just say that I have been having problems with how my mood stabilizer has been working.  I think I have gotten that straightened out so hopefully I will be able to get back on track soon.  My most common issue with Bipolar Disorder is persistent depression lasting for a month or more.  This often results in a medication adjustment.  This time I was experiencing obsessive isolation.  I would come out of my room for meals and to go to appointments outside the house.  The rest of the time was spent in my room working on my computer, watching TV and reading.  When I talked to my psych-doc about it, he suggested that the actions I was taking could be caused by an altered manic episode.  It didn’t mean that I had OCD (though it is something to watch), it meant that I had been having a uncommon manic episode.  We talked about all my medications, I suggested a couple of things and we came up with a plan of action going forward.  Now it’s been a week since the changes were put in place and it feels like things are going in the right direction.

5 thoughts on “What’s Going On

Leave a Reply

