Time and Time Again

This song was pawing at me when I opened my eyes this morning.  I’ve never had a cat (allergic) but I have a friend that has a couple and when I stayed with her one of them, names escape me, would sit on the arm of the couch and paw at my head until I woke up.  I don’t know what it was hoping to get out of it’s display of affection because I don’t speak cat but it is an interesting way to wake up.  It was like the cat was pulling my string of consciousness until my eyes opened and I shooed it away.  That’s the way it was with this song this morning.  I kept hearing more and more of it as I slowly emerged from my slumber.

“Time and Time Again”
by Counting Crows

I wanted so badly
Somebody other than me
Staring back at me
But you were gone, gone, gone
I wanted to see you
Walking backwards
And get the sensation
Of you coming home
I wanted to see you
Walking away from me
Without the sensation
Of you leaving me alone

Time and time again
Time and time again
Time and time again
I can’t please myself

I wanted the ocean
To cover over me
I wanna sink slowly
Without getting wet
Maybe someday
I won’t be so lonely
And I’ll walk on water
Every chance I get

Time and time again
Time and time again
Time and time again
I can’t please myself

So when are you coming home, sweet angel?
You leaving me alone?
All alone?
Well if I’m drowning darling
You’ll come down this way on your own

I wish I was traveling on a freeway
Beneath this graveyard western sky
I’m gonna set fire to this city
And out into the desert we’re gonna ride

Time and time again
Time and time again
Time and time again
I can’t please myself

I can’t please myself
And I can’t please nobody else

Time and time again
Time and time again
Time and time again
I can’t please myself

Leave a Reply

