For Me To Tell

The story stopped there
More like it took a running leap
From Mount Everest
Then caught fire and plummeted
To a sad smoldering death

The story began there
With a whimper
With a whine
Without direction
Full of pain and tears
Marked by shame and fear
Wishing to know the impossible
Where do I go from here?
How do I get there?

That story lasted an instant
This story is taking forever

And I wait and I watch
And I hope and I live
And I realize in moments
Of repeated clarity
This story is not something
For me to wait on
This story is for me
To tell

— GB

Leave a Reply

