Just as Beautiful

I leaned back in my chair
I closed my eyes and
I saw
Everything,
Each moment,
From the time that we met
Until the time that you
Walked away,

When we first met
When we first slept together
Every time after that…

That time we quit,
Then spent all night on the phone
Making up and
Swearing
We would never quit again

I saw you one evening,
You took me to dinner
To tell me that you were sick,
Then I cried the entire drive home,

I see all of these moments and more,
From the depths of my memory,
Memories that have not been taken,
Memories I am thankful for,

As painful as some of them are,
There are so many more that are
Just as beautiful

— GB

Leave a Reply

