Walk Away?

The dream of you comes
Raging at me in the middle
Of the night
I wake with a start
When I realize that
You Are Not Here

Are you still for me
What did I give up
When I so carelessly
Walked away from you
For the sake of my vanity

Driving home alone
I sing songs
That remind me of you
As loud as I can
Songs that we never knew

Those words are just wishes
For something we could have had
Every one an apology
For something
I can no longer control

So when I lean in
To kiss you and
Pull back with an empty sigh
My thirst for you
Goes unquenched
And all I am left with
Is a question
With no answer

Why did I let myself
Walk away?

–GLB

Leave a Reply

